Team Pitre claims spring tennis title

By Jamie Anfenson-Comeau

Team Pitre came out on top Tuesday night, scoring a 9-7 win over Team Manuel to claim the spring 2008 Eunice Men’s Tennis League championship title.

On Court One, Terry Hoychick and Wayne Wimberly of Team Manuel won a 7-5, 6-7, 6-2 split set victory over Team Pitre’s Jarvis Sam and Chris Gaspard.

Jude Miller and Scotty Richard won a 6-4, 4-6, 6-3 split set victory for Team Pitre over Team Manuel’s Scott Manuel and Nickie Miller on Court Two.

On Court Three, Brad Courville and Father Tom Voorhies scored a win for Team Manuel with a 7-6, 6-2 win over Jacque Pucheu and Monty Person of Team Pitre.

Team captain Ken Pitre and Tim Longman defeated team captain Gene Manuel and Vernon Fusilier 6-3, 6-3 on Court Four.

On Court Five, Chip Thibodeaux and Red Aucoin of Team Manuel won 6-4, 6-2 against Team Pitre’s Darren D’Aubin and Al Marks.

On Court Six, Team Pitre’s Ricky Ortego and Greg Gaspard won a 7-6, 6-3 victory over Team Manuel’s Kenneth Gaspard and Randy Frugé.

Also scoring a win for Team Pitre, Jed Gaspard and John Pucheu defeated Team Manuel’s Dr. Zeb Stearns and Dustin Ashford 8-6, 6-4 on Court Seven.


Our website requires visitors to log in to view the best local news from Vermilion Parish. Not yet a subscriber? Subscribe today!